X
X

DH electronics named as top 100 innovator again

 

Award-winning innovative strength: DH electronics has been awarded the TOP 100 seal 2021 for the second time. This award honors particularly innovative medium-sized companies. DH electronics had previously demonstrated its innovative strength in a scientific selection process.

On behalf of compamedia, the organizer of the TOP 100 innovation competition, the innovation researcher Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Franke and his team examined the innovative strength of DH electronics. The researchers used around 120 test criteria from five categories as a basis: Innovation-promoting top management, innovation climate, innovative processes and organization, external orientation/open innovation and innovation success. The core question is whether innovations are the result of a planned approach or a product of chance, i.e., the repeatability of innovation performance. And it is also about whether and how the corresponding solutions succeed on the market (further information on the test criteria can be found at www.top100.de/pruefkriterien). Due to the current situation, this round also included a special section in which the entrepreneurial response to the Corona crisis was examined. DH electronics is now among the top innovators for the second time, following its first successful participation in 2019.


DH electronics is based in the electronics industry. The company has made a name for itself primarily in the field of embedded systems and develops smart hardware and software solutions. The hardware and software solutions of the medium-sized company are used in very different industries:

  • Building technology: smart home, building, smart city
  • eMobility & Transportation
  • Measurement & laboratory technology
  • Mechanical & plant engineering
  • Medical technology & healthcare


The two founders and managing directors Stefan Daxenberger and Helmut Henschke have been friends since their student days and founded today's DH electronics in 1991. At the beginning, Managing Director Stefan Daxenberger would never have imagined that the company now employs more than 40 permanent staff and usually between five and eight working students and graduates: "Back then, Helmut and I used to spend our nights and weekends working on our own projects in parallel to our main jobs. At that time we were happy if we could cover our costs halfway, there was no thought of having our own employees. However, we secretly dreamed of it and therefore did not give up even in difficult times."


This year DH electronics celebrates its 30th anniversary and was able to achieve a turnover of 6.4 million euros in 2020. "We are really proud of that already, without our Digital Heroes team we would never have come this far," says Helmut Henschke. As a hidden champion in the electronics industry, DH electronics has set itself the goal of actively shaping the digital world of tomorrow. The company achieves this goal particularly through its great willingness to innovate. With more than 10% of revenue, DH electronics invests an above-average amount in its own innovation projects and deals with new technologies within the framework of research projects. For example, heating and cooling systems or lighting solutions are to become more efficient thanks to artificial intelligence and thus save energy.


Since 2020, Magdalena Daxenberger has been responsible for innovation management in the family business in her role as Marketing and Innovation Manager. With a degree in electrical engineering, she takes care of the strategic orientation at DH electronics with the goal of creating optimal starting conditions for a success story. As a family person and one of few women in the tech industry, she attaches great importance to the compatibility of family and career. For this reason, too, she supports flexible and diverse work for tomorrow in a family-friendly environment.


Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Franke, the scientific director of TOP 100, is impressed by the award-winning medium-sized companies. "The TOP 100 companies have consistently focused on being as innovative as possible," he notes. On November 26, there will be another reason to celebrate: Then all award winners of the current TOP 100 year will come together to receive congratulations from Ranga Yogeshwar at the 7th German SME Summit in Ludwigsburg. The science journalist has accompanied the innovation competition as a mentor for ten years.

We are very proud of this award, which we were only able to achieve thanks to the excellent cooperation with our Digital Heroes team and our partners. For this we want to thank our partners, customers, suppliers and especially our employees. We look forward to further successful cooperation and successful projects in the coming years!

X
X

DH electronics in 2021 erneut zum TOP-Innovator ausgezeichnet

 

Preisgekrönte Innovationskraft: DH electronics hat das TOP 100-Siegel 2021 bereits zum zweiten Mal verliehen bekommen. Mit dieser Auszeichnung werden besonders innovative mittelständische Unternehmen geehrt. Zuvor hatte DH electronics in einem wissenschaftlichen Auswahlverfahren seine Innovationskraft bewiesen.

Im Auftrag von compamedia, dem Ausrichter des Innovationswettbewerbs TOP 100, untersuchten der Innovationsforscher Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Franke und sein Team die Innovationskraft von DH electronics. Die Forscher legten rund 120 Prüfkriterien aus fünf Kategorien zugrunde: Innovationsförderndes Top-Management, Innovationsklima, Innovative Prozesse und Organisation, Außenorientierung/Open Innovation und Innovationserfolg. Im Kern geht es um die Frage, ob Innovationen das Ergebnis planvollen Vorgehens oder ein Zufallsprodukt sind, also um die Wiederholbarkeit von Innovationsleistungen. Und darum, ob und wie sich die entsprechenden Lösungen am Markt durchsetzen (weitere Informationen zu den Prüfkriterien unter www.top100.de/pruefkriterien). Aufgrund der aktuellen Situation gab es bei dieser Runde zudem einen Sonderteil, in dem die unternehmerische Reaktion auf die Coronakrise untersucht wurde. DH electronics zählt nach der ersten erfolgreichen Teilnahme in 2019 nun bereits zum zweiten Mal zu den Top-Innovatoren.


DH electronics ist in der Elektronikbranche beheimatet. Das Unternehmen hat sich vor allem im Bereich Embedded Systeme einen Namen gemacht und entwickelt smarte Hardware- und Software-Lösungen. Die Hardware- und Software-Lösungen des Mittelständlers kommen in ganz unterschiedlichen Branchen zum Einsatz:

  • Gebäudetechnik: Smart Home, Building, Smart City
  • eMobility & Verkehrswesen
  • Mess- & Labortechnik
  • Maschinen- & Anlagenbau
  • Medizintechnik & Gesundheitswesen

Die beiden Gründer und Geschäftsführer Stefan Daxenberger und Helmut Henschke sind schon seit Studienzeiten befreundet und haben 1991 die heutige DH electronics gegründet. Dass das Unternehmen inzwischen mehr als 40 Festangestellte und in der Regel zwischen fünf und acht Werkstudent/-innen und Absolvent/-innen beschäftigt hätte sich Geschäftsführer Stefan Daxenberger sich zu Beginn nicht gedacht: „Damals haben Helmut und ich uns die Nächte und Wochenenden um die Ohren geschlagen um parallel zu unseren Hauptjobs an unseren eigenen Projekten zu arbeiten. Damals waren wir froh, wenn wir unsere Kosten halbwegs decken konnten, an eigene Mitarbeiter/-innen war nicht zu denken. Geträumt davon haben wir insgeheim aber schon und haben deshalb auch in schwierigen Zeiten nicht aufgegeben.“


In diesem Jahr feiert DH electronics sein 30-jähriges Firmenjubiläum und konnte 2020 einen Umsatz in Höhe von 6.4 Millionen Euro erzielen. „Darauf sind wir schon richtig stolz, ohne unser Digital Heroes Team wären wir nie so weit gekommen.“, sagt Helmut Henschke. Als Hidden Champion der Elektronikbranche hat sich DH electronics das Ziel gesetzt, die digitale Welt von Morgen aktiv mitzugestalten. Dieses Ziel erreicht das Unternehmen besonders durch seine große Innovationsbereitschaft. Mit über 10% des Umsatzes investiert DH electronics überdurchschnittlich viel in eigene Innovationsprojekte und beschäftigt sich im Rahmen von Forschungsprojekten mit neuen Technologien. Beispielweise sollen Heiz- und Kühlsysteme oder Beleuchtungslösungen dank Künstlicher Intelligenz effizienter werden und dadurch Energie sparen.


Seit 2020 ist Magdalena Daxenberger in ihrer Rolle als Marketing und Innovation Managerin für das Innovationsmanagement im Familienbetrieb verantwortlich. Die studierte Elektrotechnikerin kümmert sich bei DH electronics um die strategische Ausrichtung mit dem Ziel optimale Startbedingungen für eine Erfolgsgeschichte zu schaffen. Als Familienmensch und eine von wenigen Frauen in der Tech-Branche legt sie großen Wert auf die Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Karriere. Auch aus diesem Grund setzte sie sich für ein flexibles und diverses Arbeiten von Morgen in einem familienfreundlichen Umfeld ein.


Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Franke, der wissenschaftliche Leiter von TOP 100, ist von den ausgezeichneten mittelständischen Unternehmen beeindruckt. „Die TOP 100-Unternehmen haben sich konsequent danach ausgerichtet, möglichst innovativ zu sein“, stellt er fest. Am 26. November gibt es noch einmal einen Anlass zum Feiern: Dann kommen alle Preisträger des aktuellen TOP 100-Jahrgangs zusammen, um auf dem 7. Deutschen Mittelstands-Summit in Ludwigsburg die Glückwünsche von Ranga Yogeshwar entgegenzunehmen. Der Wissenschaftsjournalist begleitet seit zehn Jahren den Innovationswettbewerb als Mentor.

 

Wir sind sehr stolz, auf diese Auszeichnung, die wir nur dank der hervorragenden Zusammenarbeit mit unserem Digital Heroes Team und unseren Partnern erreichen konnten. Dafür wollen wir uns bei unseren Partnern, Kunden, Lieferanten und vor allem unseren Mitarbeitern bedanken. Wir freuen uns auf eine weitere erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit und gelungene Projekte in den kommenden Jahren!